How to Delete TurboTax Account in 2022?

When it comes to filing tax returns, Americans will go after the CPAs and tax professionals to help them file the return! Wait …

It’s not how it works nowadays. A prominent number of first-time tax filers and repeated tax filers are changing the norm of asking for attention from the CPAs and tax professionals who are very busy during the season.

So what’s the solution?

Since the advent of technology and innovation, scientists and engineers have come up with new products and solutions to facilitate human beings.

Similarly, software engineers and businesses have come up with a new solution named e-filing tax returns using Tax Software.

Tax software is a new norm for tax filers due to its hassle-free process, quick filing, and maximum amount of refund from the IRS. More and more people are switching to tax software to conveniently file their returns.

When we say tax software, TurboTax is the biggest name and has its own fanbase. One of the most used tax software has been developed by Intuit.

In this article, we will talk about TurboTax, filing tax returns, and what if you want to delete or deactivate your TurboTax account.

So let’s get into it.

What is TurboTax?

TurboTax is a product of Intuit to facilitate the taxpayers, CPAs, and businesses by giving a convenient method of filing returns backed by final expert review.

Intuit is not only behind TurboTax but much other software like Mailchimp, Mint, QuickBooks, etc., are also on its credit.

TurboTax has been there for decades and is as old as the mid-1980s. In 2022, the software has earned the repute of top software for tax returns.

The clean interface, ease of use, interview method for tax deductions, and several products available within the suite are what make TurboTax unique.

You can answer different questions to make the right choices about tax deductions and get an expert review of the finalized return.

It wouldn’t be wrong to say that TurboTax has become a market leader as compared to other tax software like H& R Block, Cash App Taxes, etc.

Related article  2022 Guide to Get W2 Form from Bath and Body Works (For Current & Previous Employee)

The software has paid and free versions for the customers that they can choose from according to their requirements. TurboTax’s mobile app is also available, making it an even more convenient method for return filing.

Can I Delete My TurboTax Account?

When you search ‘how to delete my TurboTax account?’, the most common answer will be that you can only deactivate the TurboTax account and not delete it.

However, is it the truth, or can you delete your TurboTax account?

The answer is yes!

We will discuss different ways and methods you can capitalize on to delete your TurboTax for whatever reason you might have

Different Ways To Delete TurboTax Account?

Before we dive into the detailed procedure of deleting the TurboTax account, we will briefly mention what we are going to do in each method:

  1. You can go for manual deletion
  2. You can call the customer support of TurboTax and ask them to delete your account
  3. You can start over by deleting all stored data and files related to your tax information and start over.

Manual Deletion

Many people are unaware of the fact that TurboTax allows you manual deletion options. We will tell you how you can delete your account from the settings and menu of TurboTax on your desktop or online.

Follow the given simple steps to close your account with TurboTax:

Step 1: Sign in To Your TurboTax Account

First, you must log in to your TurboTax account with the login credentials you already have yourself. Do this from TurboTax online and enter the TurboTax ecosystem.

Step 2: Take Me To Return

Once you’re in, look for the Take me To Return option. Find the option and tap on it.

Step 3: Start Over

In the return menu, look for the My Available Located At The Top and click on it. The next thing you have to do is go to Start Over Option and click on it.

Step 4: Respond To Prompt

Once you have started the process of Start Over, the window will show you a prompt for confirmation. Click on Yes.

Related article  How Do I Activate My Turbo Tax Debit Card?

Step 5: Delete Your Account

After the completion of the process, all data stored on the TurboTax will be deleted, and your account-related information will also be deleted, and you have nothing to do with anything else now.

Customer Support

Let’s jump over to the second method of calling customer support and requesting them to delete all account-related information, tax documents, and the TurboTax account.

It is a very simple method, but how much time it will take can’t be guaranteed. It totally depends on the response time of the Customer Support and how promptly they act upon your request.

However, here are the simple steps to delete your TurboTax account by sending an email to Customer Support:

  1. Go to your email server, which can be Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, etc. Login to your account using the credentials.
  2. Make sure you’re logging into the same email you registered with your TurboTax account. It’s important because the TurboTax team will only act upon your request when they believe it’s you who wants to clear or delete the account.
  3. Go to compose email > Enter the recipient ([email protected]), >Add Subject (Request To Delete My Account) > Type Body Message (Explain the reasons why you want to delete your TurboTax account).
  4. Once you have typed the email, send it to TurboTax and wait for their response. This method will only work for you if you have a solid reason to delete your account.

Start Over And Delete Account

This method is similar to the first one and works for those who have purchased TurboTax Desktop version.

You will do the same things as you did in the first method but with a few additional steps. Here are simple steps you have to follow:

Step 1: Sign in To Your TurboTax Account

First, you must log in to your TurboTax account with the login credentials you already have yourself. Do this from TurboTax online and enter the TurboTax ecosystem.

Step 2: Take Me To Return

Once you’re in, look for the Take me To Return option. Find the option and tap on it.

Related article  What Are TPG Products, and What Is It Stand For? (FAQs)

Step 3: Start Over

In the return menu, look for the My account and click on it. The next thing you have to do is go to Start Over Option and click on it.

Step 4: Respond To Prompt

Once you have started the process of Start Over, the window will show you a prompt for confirmation. Click on Yes.

Step 5: Select The Product You Use

Once you have started over, the TurboTax will ask you to choose a product from the list appearing on the screen. The options can be:

  1. CD/ Download Mac
  2. Mobile App
  3. CD/ Download Windows
  4. Online
  5. I don’t know

Step 6: Delete Account Permanently

Once you have selected the right option, whatever it is, the window will have the option of I need to delete my account permanently.

Tap on the option and click Continue in the right corner of the screen.

Step 7: Add Personal Information

The process will start, and the software will ask for your verification by requiring you to enter your email address, name, phone number, etc.

Step 8: Enter Your Number

The next step is to click the options for getting your phone number to call on that number.

Step 9: Final Deletion

Once you call the given number, they will proceed with your application for deletion, and your account will be deleted after the normal processing time.

Conclusion

We have discussed the complete method of deleting your TurboTax account without any hassle. You can go after any option that feels convenient.

However, it’s important to mention that TurboTax is a professional tax software that is considered a firm of CPAs working on behalf of clients.

Therefore, the IRS requires the CPAs to keep the information of tax filers stored to facilitate them. This obligation arises once you have paid TurboTax for filing a return.

This clause might become the hurdle in the complete deletion of your account. Therefore, make sure to discuss all details with customer support when proceeding to delete the account.